Sound House Field Trip

Please post responses to the soundhouse field trip here.

About sw3ddesign

Instructor Wayne State University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sound House Field Trip

  1. Ruwaida Ba-arma says:

    I’m glad we didn’t cancel our field trip. It was a memorable and enjoyable experience despite the cold and rainy weather. On the field trip we visited several houses that were used by artists to create their vision. Each house had its own theme. There were two houses that stood out to me.

    http://www.powerhouseproductions.org/index.php?/network/design-99/

    The first house was the work of Gina Reichert and Mitch Cope. Although the house was unfinished I could imagine what it would look like finished. The first thing I noticed about the house was the fiberglass window. The window was created by layering cutout sheets of different colored fiberglass. The window was eye catching from the exterior of the house, but mesmerizing from the interior. The way the sun came thru the window made the colors come to life. Not only was the fiberglass window beautiful it was also safe. It had aesthetic appeal and use value. The layered fiberglass was made strong and secure by layering. There were also windows in the attic that are used to let the sun in to generate heat.

    http://www.powerhouseproductions.org/index.php?/projects/soundhouse/

    The second house was the “Sound House”. When you first enter the house low & high frequencies start playing. I liked the design elements in the house. The elements that were used most were line, proximity, space, repetition and unity. The repetition of line was used in the paintings. The use of repetition created unity, which made it appealing. I felt like there was one thing that I would love to have experienced as well. The manipulation of light could be used to create an emotion that the sound and paintings were creating. I feel by using light the audience would have the complete experience. I liked the idea of using a record cutter it is a unique touch.
    I found the field trip and the whole project unique and interesting.

  2. The Soundhouse trip was personally great for me, because it’s the old neighborhood I grew up in. To see the area transforming means a lot, and gives me hope we’ll see more coming from that area in the future.

    I feel the primary message of the field trip was about problem-solving. For example, the floors in Soundhouse being used as a speaker instead of using electrical equipment, would solve the issue of wanting to play music, but not wanting to deal with theft if someone stole the speakers. Utilizing the vibrations of the hardwood floor instead is a great idea.

    Another example of problem solving is plexiglass in the windmill house. It repels abuse a lot better than a regular house, and deters vandals.

    I was able to take pictures and show them to my friends, in order to tell them about how another area in Detroit is changing. All of it is good news, so I’m looking forward to seeing the Soundhouse project develop from here.

  3. Jessica Haj says:

    Eventhough it was freezing, and my fingers are still defrosting, the experience was worth it. All the houses we visited were very cool, and I gained knowledge about more artistic spots to use for my photography.

    My absolute favorite house was the soundhouse for Jon Brumit;
    http://www.powerhouseproductions.org/index.php?/projects/soundhouse/
    I loved the patterns of design on the walls, there’s also so much repetition with some designs but it keeps it interesting. Not too much color, just the shades of black, white, and grey, but I like the contrast that creates. Also, the sounds produced are amazing. How the frequencies can get high and low. I would love to visit there sometime and have a photoshoot, or even record a piece, eventhough I’m bad at music, but I have enough passion to try.

    I also enjoyed the Juxtapoz X Detroit house. I loved how visually different it looked, it just grabs your attention. Despite the hard rain, I still managed to take a picture infront of it.

  4. Konrad Tenwolde says:

    I did not attend the field trip so I am writing about an object that has been improved through research and design. The object I chose to write about is the iPad. An iPad is Apples line of tablet computers. These tablets are an improvement of a computer enabling a person all the functions of a computer without the size, weight, and keyboard ext. The iPad can also be viewed as an improvement of classic object like the book, calendar, journal and map. The iPad is an improvement upon these objects because it is a single screen capable of showing multiple pages/screens of information where as books obviously need a correct number of pages to contain their subject matter. With the invention of tablets we have better accessibility when it comes to connecting to the internet/data and this also enables us to be more productive. Aside from the technical advantages the iPad is also aesthetically pleasing with it’s thin and high definition display.

  5. Lindsey Olah says:

    The Sound House was definitely my favorite for many reasons. Not only is the idea very original, but the execution creates a mood unlike anything i’ve ever seen (or heard) before. The painting on the walls were more like hieroglyphics, to me, which added to the eeriness of the house. I feel that being in this house promotes creativity, as I felt like I was on another planet investigating a new discovery. Why is this here? What is it’s use? What do the paintings mean? In my opinion, Jon did a great job of matching up the frequencies, that are heard as you walk into the house, with the way the house looks aesthetically. I know that it was cold and rainy out that day, but I really thought it added to the atmosphere. It made me feel more like I was discovering some sort of cave. I probably would have a different feeling about the house if it was bright and sunny out.
    I have told many people about The Sound House and eventually plan to take another trip out there.

  6. Ashley Laskey says:

    Even though I did not attend the trip to The Sound House, I will be explaining an object that has been made over and over, with research and great improvements. For example, Canon cameras were first made in 1933 and today are used digitally by many people because of the improvements over time. The features on digital cameras may vary from the different types for the consumers. Digital cameras can vary greatly in size and weight. The quality of a digital photograph depends heavily on the digital camera’s resolution, which is the amount of detail it records. Resolution is defined in megapixels and the more megapixels mean more detail, so you can create bigger prints without noticing pixilation on the picture. All digital cameras have zoom lenses, the maximum optical zoom on a compact digital camera is around 10x, but another improvement is superzoom or bridge cameras that can go up to 18x or 24x optical zoom. If you take a lot of portrait shots, the best digital camera for you could be one with a face-detection feature. The ISO setting on a digital camera tells you how sensitive the camera’s sensor is to light. You can change the ISO setting manually on most digital cameras. Today, most digital cameras can produce not only still shots, but also short videos with sound. While some of us just want a basic point-and-shoot digital camera for taking snap shots, others want a digital camera with more advanced features. If you’re a photographer, you may want to consider a DSLR camera because of the improvements of the features, which can give better-quality images than ordinary digital cameras.

  7. banin1 says:

    I enjoyed this field trip because this is my first visit to this place. We saw several houses outside and inside. But the most important for me was the power house and the sound house. This is an interesting project to change or to fix something old. I feel it’s a good idea if we can change the neighborhood of any old and destroyed houses. That’s can be like remodel the city to be new and clean with a fantastic design.

Leave a Reply

